Groups announced for Commonwealth Championship

The draw for the 2018 Rugby League Commonwealth Championships has been made as Moreton Bay in Queensland prepares for two exciting days of Nines Rugby League on February 23-24.

The Championship is officially endorsed by the Commonwealth Games Federation and is classed as an exhibition sport.

In the Men’s tournament, hosts Australia are joined by 2014 bronze medalist, Wales, plus Fiji and Scotland in Group A.

Meanwhile, defending Champions, Papua New Guinea, will face England, Tonga and Samoa in Pool B.

The inaugural Women’s tournament sees Fiji, Samoa and Australia face off in Pool A, whilst Canada, Tonga and Cook Islands are all in Pool B.

There will also be a three-team Physical Disability tournament between Australia, New Zealand and a rest of the world side known as the “Commonwealth All Stars”.

The exact timings of the fixtures are not yet confirmed and will be announced at a later date.

Scotland faced both Wales and Australia in 2014, losing to the Welsh but drawing with the Australians 18-18.

Scotland beat England 14-4 in the 5/6th play-off in Glasgow and will be looking to improve on their performances of 4 years ago.

Head Coach Nathan Graham is looking forward to taking the squad over to Australia to compete in the Championships:

I am really looking forward to seeing how the lads gel and grow together throughout the process. We have a tough group with Wales, Fiji and Australia but I am confident that with 100% buy in from the players we will be capable of progressing to the next stage of the competition.

If you are interested in sponsoring any of the players please contact Ollie Cruickshank for more details.

Tickets for the tournament are just $10 for Adults with Kids Under 16 Free. To purchase or to find out more about the tournament, visit

Group A:


Group B:
Papua New Guinea

Group A:


Group B:
Cook Islands

2018-04-12T15:51:05+00:00 January 16th, 2018|Scotland 9s|