The draw for the first round of the 2017 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup took place this evening (Thursday, January 5) at The Deep in Hull.
Conducting the draw was 2016 winning coach with Hull FC, Lee Radford who was picking the home balls. Away teams were drawn by RFL President, Air Commodore Dean Andrew.
Thirty-two clubs representing the community game, Armed Forces, police and University Rugby League were drawn against each other and will play their ties over the weekend of January 28 – 29.

Aberdeen Warriors have been drawn at home to Pilkington Recs, the last time these two teams met was in the first round in 2014, Pilkington went on to reach the third round. The match will be played on Saturday 28th January at Woodside Sports Complex 13:30 Kick Off

Head Coach Craig Parslow had this to say about the first round draw.
“We are really looking forward to hosting Pilks in Aberdeen and can’t believe we have managed a home draw. We met Pilks for the first time in our first Challenge Cup game back in 2014, so we know we are in for a battle. They are an experienced side and very street smart. The players are excited to play at home and relishing the challenge with a so called revenge match at hand. Our main focus will be putting a solid performance in and work to our strengths. We are playing with a very young team this year so hopefully these guys will shine.”

2017 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup first round draw in full is as follows:
University of Hull v Rochdale Mayfield
West Bowling v Kells
Featherstone Lions v Distington
London Chargers v Bridgend Blue Bulls
Leigh Miners Rangers v Wigan St Patricks
Royal Air Force v York Acorn
Wath Brow Hornets v Haydock
Fryston Warriors v Normanton Knights
Royal Navy v Myton Warriors
Siddal v Milford Marlins
Egremont Rangers v The Army
Wests Warriors v Great Britain Police
Thatto Heath Crusaders v Skirlaugh
West Hull v Hull Dockers
Thornhill Trojans v Lock Lane
Aberdeen Warriors v Pilkington Recs

Tickets for the 2017 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup final at Wembley Stadium on Saturday, August 26 can be purchased by calling the Rugby League Ticket Office on 0844 856 1113 or by visiting
– See more here