Scotland Rugby League are delighted to announce the first of the four Players of the Year for their representative sides.

The Thompson-Tait Award, named after team-mates in the first Scotland senior team Graeme Thompson and Alan Tait, for Scotland’s best Under-19 player went to prop George Kinnaird, who played in all five of Scotland Under-19s games in 2016. Kinnaird, who studies law, media and sociology at Huddersfield New College, spent 2016 at Halifax Elite Rugby Academy and on trial with Coventry Bears. He is currently doing pre-season with Keighley Cougars, where Scotland Students coach Nathan Graham is on the coaching staff.

“This is thoroughly deserved for George as his attitude around camp and match performance were second to none,” declared team manager Andy Bennett. ScotlandRL chairman Keith Hogg, whose son Matt came a close second in the voting, added: “I would describe George as a very good team player – always puts it in for the team, prepared to play in any position in the forwards, and he played with a knee injury throughout the season. He is very committed to the Scotland Rugby League cause and was one of the core players from the first development session in 2016.”

Trophies will be presented at the start of the new season.

Thompson-Tait Award – Scotland Under-18/19s Player of the Year
2015 Luke Walter – Sherwood Wolf Hunt
2014 Shane Toal – Ulverston
2013 Gregor Ramsey – Easterhouse Panthers
2012 Louis Senter – Hull KR
2011 David Scott – Hull KR
2010 Shaun Gray – Glenrothes
2009 Ashley Honeyman – Keighley Cougars & Josh Stoker – Gateshead Storm*
2007 Aiden Oakley – Kent Ravens
2006 Davie Crangle – Easterhouse Panthers” & Ben Parker – West Hull+
2005 Kieran Seeds – Edge Hill College
2004 Dougie Flockhart – Heriot-Watt University
*joint winners. Not awarded in 2008. “ U18 winner. + U19 winner.