Scotland Rugby League U19s Head Coach, Danny Addy, has announced his squad that will travel to Serbia to compete in the upcoming Under 19s European Championships. The tournament starts on 5th August with the finals to be played on 11th August. The competition will feature eight teams, Serbia, England, Russia, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, France and qualifiers Italy; who beat Ukraine 50-0 in May.

Scotland’s first match will be against Ireland in Belgrade and they will then face either France or Italy in a new knockout style format which will see all teams play three games and the results determining final standings

The squad will be led by current Hull KR player and Scotland Rugby League international Danny Addy. Addy who already has 16 Scotland caps, took over as U19 Head Coach for 2018 after being ruled for the season with a serious knee injury. 

Addy said about the squad selection:

I’m pleased with the make up of the squad; we’ve got a nice balance between those who have the experience and those who are a bit fresher to the game. I’m impressed with the talent on display and a number of them have taken to playing quickly and are eager to learn. Our first game will be tough against Ireland, as these games between neighbouring nations always are, they’ll be looking to come out and get a result against us, but if we stick to the game plan I’m confident we can make a close game of it.

He will be assisted by Coach Liam Prescott; Physio Chris Quinn; Head Medic Aaron Scholes; and Team Manager Alex Chandler.

Team Manager Chandler said:

We have lads and the staff representing many parts of Scotland, We’ve got lads from Glasgow, Edinburgh, Elgin and Aberdeen and many other areas in between. The developing game here is continually growing and it’s been a challenging task selecting the European Squad when we’ve had over 50 players coming to our development days.

SCOTLAND U19 EUROPEAN CHAMPIONSHIP SQUAD:Adam Hay – Wallsend Eagles, Sponsored by: MBM Print SCS Ltd.; Alex Williams – Edinburgh Eagles; Archie Andrade, Wakefield Trinity, Sponsored by: Eco-i; Callum Kennedy – Newcastle Thunder; Charlie Emslie – Millom RLFC, Sponsored by: Millom RLFC; Chris Paterson – Newcastle Thunder, Sponsored by: Winn Solicitors; Clem Harrison – London Skolars; Connall McDonagh – Strathmore Silverbacks; Connor Terrill – Millom RLFC; Daniel May – Halifax Elite Rugby Academy; Elliot Campbell – Barrow Island; Euan Caldwell – Strathmore Silverbacks; Fergus Simpson – Newcastle Thunder/Edinburgh Eagles, Sponsored by: JD Sports Performance & Whitley Bay Chiropractic; Frankie Armstrong – Edinburgh Eagles; Gregor Mitchell – Edinburgh Eagles; Iain Oakley – Wakefield Trinity; Jack McMillan – Queensbury ARLFC, Sponsored by: Queensbury ARLFC; Jamie McCabe – Edinburgh Eagles; Liam Punton – Bradford Bulls; Sean McKervail – Edinburgh Eagles; Timmy Kennedy – Edinburgh Eagles