Rugby League World Cup 2021 (RLWC2021) has today revealed the confirmed nations who will participate in the wheelchair tournament in 2021.

The announcements were made across the tournament’s official social media channels, we saw each of the eight individual nations revealed with a unique video showcasing what each nation will bring to RLWC2021.

Set to be the most inclusive rugby league event ever, RLWC2021 will see the men’s, women’s and wheelchair tournaments played concurrently for the first time. International nations were asked to submit their expressions of interest earlier this year for RLWC2021 and Rugby League International Federation (RLIF) representatives to review.

The nations confirmed for the wheelchair tournament are:

  • England (Hosts)
  • Australia
  • France (Holders)
  • Norway
  • Scotland
  • Spain
  • United States of America
  • Wales

Each nation was assessed against set criteria that reviewed their current international and domestic infrastructure, their plans for growth and their potential impact on RLWC2021. The draw for the tournament will take place in November 2019.

Speaking about the announcement, Jon Dutton, Chief Executive of the Rugby League World Cup 2021, said:

It’s great that we’ll be seeing the Scotland wheelchair team in World Cup action in 2021. The team recently got a great win against Ireland and with lots of new players coming through, it’s an exciting time for the game in Scotland. I can’t wait to see how they progress before the tournament and to see them representing their country in 2021.

Scotland Rugby League Operations Director Ollie Cruickshank, said:

We are delighted to have our place in the 2021 wheelchair World Cup confirmed, this is just reward for the hard work and endless hours put in by our passionate volunteers who lead on our wheelchair programme. It’s great to see new nations participating in the sport.

RLIF Chief Executive Officer Nigel Wood, said:

Wheelchair rugby league is one of the most spectacular versions of a fantastic sport it is as close to the running game of rugby that could ever be devised to be played in a wheelchair.

RLWC2021 will begin with the men’s opening fixture featuring England at St James’ Park on Saturday 23rd October 2021. The women’s tournament will begin at Anfield on Saturday 13th November 2021 and the wheelchair tournament will begin on Sunday 14th November 2021 at the Copper Box Arena, with England both featuring in those opening fixtures. The event will finish with a finals weekend (27th-28th November) with the wheelchair tournament concluding at the M&S Bank Arena and men’s and women’s final held as a double-header at Old Trafford.

Follow all the latest news via the official RLWC2021 social media channels, on Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn.