James Bell has won the Scotland Men’s Player of the Year Award for 2022. The St Helens player receives the Dave Valentine Award for his performances throughout the Rugby League World Cup. This is the second time Bell has picked up the award following his performances in the 2018 European Championships.

Bell who now has 10 caps led form the front playing Loose Forward in the warm up match against England Knights and the first two group stage matches before slotting in at Half Back for the final match against Fiji due to injuries.

Head Coach Nathan Graham had this to say about Bell:

For me, James Bell has been the stand out player this year for Scotland RL men’s team. On the field his performances were full of skill, passion and enthusiasm. He was consistantly in the top numbers stats wise and played in a number of different positions for us due to injuries. Off the field he has been the perfect squad member, in the way he goes about his business and the way he talks to people and encourages. He is an infectious character and first name down on the team sheet for me.

Bell won the award ahead of Bravehearts debutant Luke Bain, also receiving votes were Matty Russell and Lachlan Walmsley.

Previous winners are listed below.

Dave Valentine Award – Scotland Men’s Player of the Year

2020-21 Not Awarded due to COVID

2019 Callum McLelland – Leeds Rhinos

2018 James Bell – New Zealand Warriors

2017 Danny Addy – Hull KR

2016 Adam Walker – St Helens

2015 David Scott – Doncaster

2014 Danny Brough – Huddersfield Giants

2013 Luke Douglas – Gold Coast Titans

2012 Ben Fisher – Catalans Dragons

2011 John Duffy – Leigh Centurions

2010 Dale Ferguson – Wakefield Trinity

2009 Mick Nanyn – Harlequins RL

2008 Iain Morrison – Widnes Vikings

2007 Duncan MacGillivray – Wakefield Trinity

2006 Neil Lowe – Doncaster Lakers

2005 Jon Steel – Hull KR

2004 Chris Birchall – Halifax