Danny Addy has won the Scotland Player of the Year Award for 2017. The Hull Kingston Rovers utility player receives the Dave Valentine Award for his performances throughout the Rugby League World Cup at which he scored Scotland’s only try against Tonga, gave his all in the record defeat to New Zealand, and kicked three goals in a Man of the Match performance in the draw with Samoa.

Retiring Head Coach Steve McCormack said:

“Danny has always performed well in a Scotland jersey but this year he was a stand-out player in all the games played,”

“He is an inspirational leader on the field and showed outstanding qualities, playing a number of different positions, against the world’s best. Most importantly Danny was a tremendous role model off the field and is someone the younger players can look up to in future tournaments. Throughout my time as coach Danny is up there as one of the best players to wear the Scotland jersey.”

Addy, who turns 27 in a fortnight, made his Scotland debut against Papua New Guinea in October 2013 and, remarkably, has not missed a game since. His run of 17 consecutive appearances is a national record which he shares with Ben Kavanagh, who made his debut in the same game. The pair are also joint fifth in the all-time appearance list and should move into the top four next season.

Versatile Addy, who has played at stand-off, hooker and loose forward for Scotland in recent games, was unanimous first choice of every member of the Scotland RLWC coaching and management team who voted, with Dale Ferguson of Huddersfield Giants runner-up and Lewis Tierney of Catalans Dragons third. Also receiving votes were Lachlan Stein, James Bell and Luke Douglas.


Dave Valentine Award – Scotland Senior Team Player of the Year
2016 Adam Walker – St Helens

2015 David Scott – Doncaster

2014 Danny Brough – Huddersfield Giants

2013 Luke Douglas – Gold Coast Titans

2012 Ben Fisher – Catalans Dragons

2011 John Duffy – Leigh Centurions

2010 Dale Ferguson – Wakefield Trinity

2009 Mick Nanyn – Harlequins RL

2008 Iain Morrison – Widnes Vikings

2007 Duncan MacGillivray – Wakefield Trinity

2006 Neil Lowe – Doncaster Lakers

2005 Jon Steel – Hull KR

2004 Chris Birchall – Halifax