The voting for the Scotland RL Student Player of the Year was extremely tight, with three Newcastle-based players who all stood out at the Student World Cup in Sydney last summer hard to separate.

Stand-off Matt Hogg of Newcastle University just edged out Dan Turland of Northumbria University and Newcastle Thunder and Liam Faughlin of the University of Newcastle in Australia!

Hogg will receive the Roy Kinnear Award, named after the famous former dual-code British Lion who made a big money move from Heriots FP to Wigan in 1927 and scored the winning try for the Cherry and Whites in the first Challenge Cup Final to be held at Wembley.

Hogg is from North Berwick and also plays for Edinburgh Eagles during the summer holidays.


Roy Kinnear Award – Scotland Students Player of the Year
2016 Scott Plumridge

2015 Oliver Murray

2014 Dan Parker

2013 Louis Senter

2012 Callum Boyle

2011 Jordan Rice

2010 Jordan Rice

2009 Mike Scott

2008 Scott Porteous

2007 Barry Earl

2006 James Morrow

2005 David Simm

2004 Andy McPhail