The voting for the Roy Kinnear Award for Scotland Students Player of the Year was extremely tight again in 2022, following the Student Tri Nations last summer.

Ben Morris, Connor Terrill and Oli Shakeshaft, were split by only a few votes from the Students Management team. The 2022 winner is Furness College and Barrow Raiders Conner Terrill.

Terrill produced a string of great performances to help Scotland to finish 2nd behind England.

Terrill will receive the Roy Kinnear Award, named after the famous former dual-code British Lion who made a big money move from Heriots FP to Wigan in 1927 and scored the winning try for the Cherry and Whites in the first Challenge Cup Final to be held at Wembley.

Roy Kinnear Award – Scotland Students Player of the Year:

2020-21 Not awarded due to COVID

2019 Chris Jollands

2018 Nick Ghloe

2017 Matt Hogg

2016 Scott Plumridge

2015 Oliver Murray

2014 Dan Parker

2013 Louis Senter

2012 Callum Boyle

2011 Jordan Rice

2010 Jordan Rice

2009 Mike Scott

2008 Scott Porteous

2007 Barry Earl

2006 James Morrow

2005 David Simm

2004 Andy McPhail