The Under-19s Player of the Year, who received the Thompson-Tait Award, named after Scotland RL pioneer Graeme Thompson and legendary full-back Alan Tait, is Carluke Tigers prop Calum Weir, who excelled at prop in the win over Cumbria, London and Northern Ireland and at loose forward in the defeat to England. Weir, won by one point from Aberdeen Warriors product Jack Stevenson, now with Halifax Elite Academy, with Matt Hogg in third place.

“It is worth remembering the names winning the lower age awards,” adds McCormack. “I’m told that 14 past winners have gone on to earn full Scotland caps, which just shows that there is a pathway to the senior team. Dave Scott is the classic example (Under-16 Player of the year in 2009, Under-18 in 2011, in the World Cup team in 2013 and injured squad member this year), but there’s also lads like Giles Lomax, Dave Arnot, Calum Cockburn, Jordan Rice, Scott Plumridge have all done it. It’s only three years since Shane Toal won the Under-19 Award and he was playing against Samoa in a vital World Cup match in Cairns!”

Thompson-Tait Award – Scotland Under-18/19s Player of the Year
2016 George Kinnaird – Halifax Elite Rugby Academy

2015 Luke Walter – Sherwood Wolf Hunt

2014 Shane Toal – Ulverston

2013 Gregor Ramsey – Easterhouse Panthers

2012 Louis Senter – Hull KR

2011 David Scott – Hull KR

2010 Shaun Gray – Glenrothes

2009 Ashley Honeyman – Keighley Cougars & Josh Stoker – Gateshead Storm*

2007 Aiden Oakley – Kent Ravens

2006 Davie Crangle – Easterhouse Panthers” & Ben Parker – West Hull+

2005 Kieran Seeds – Edge Hill College

2004 Dougie Flockhart – Heriot-Watt University
*joint winners. Not awarded in 2008. “ U18 winner. + U19 winner.