After winning the last three years, Michael Mellon of Dundee Dragons was pipped into second place for the Graeme Stewart Award as Scotland Wheelchair RL Player of the Year by David Birtles, Mellon’s team-mate at Dundee, with Connor Blackmore in third.

David’s is an inspirational story: a former goalkeeper he has not played competitive sport for 20 years having been diagnosed with Limb Girdle Muscular Dystrophy. However, in his fifties, David took up Wheelchair Rugby League at the Dragons, won his first cap aged 56 and his performances at the Wheelchair World Cup in France this summer earned him the Player of the Year Award.

The Wheelchair Player of the Year Award is voted by the players, coaches and management team.

Previous winners are listed below.
Graeme Stewart Award – Scotland Wheelchair Player of the Year
2016 Michael Mellon

2015 Michael Mellon

2014 Michael Mellon

2013 Graeme Stewart