The voting for the Scotland Rugby League Student Player of the Year was extremely tight, with two Newcastle-based players standing out at the Student 4 Nations last summer.

Last year’s winner stand-off Matt Hogg of Newcastle University in England was beaten to the award by Nick Glohe from Newcastle University in Australia.

Glohe produced a string of great performances to help Scotland to their best 4 Nations result finishing 2nd behind England.

Glohe will receive the Roy Kinnear Award, named after the famous former dual-code British Lion who made a big money move from Heriots FP to Wigan in 1927 and scored the winning try for the Cherry and Whites in the first Challenge Cup Final to be held at Wembley.

Glohe is the first player based in Australia to pick up the Kinnear Award. Matt Hogg, Murray Mitchell, Charlie Emslie and Luke Westman all received votes from the Management team. Hogg, Glohe, Mitchell and Westman all received call ups to the Scotland squad following the Student 4 Nations and made their debuts in the European Championships.

Roy Kinnear Award – Scotland Students Player of the Year

2017 Matt Hogg

2016 Scott Plumridge

2015 Oliver Murray

2014 Dan Parker

2013 Louis Senter

2012 Callum Boyle

2011 Jordan Rice

2010 Jordan Rice

2009 Mike Scott

2008 Scott Porteous

2007 Barry Earl

2006 James Morrow

2005 David Simm

2004 Andy McPhail