The Under-19s Player of the Year, who received the Thompson-Tait Award, named after Scotland RL pioneer Graeme Thompson and legendary full-back Alan Tait, is Newcastle Thunder’s Chris Paterson. Paterson excelled at the European Championships in Serbia. Paterson had competition for the award from Bon Accord Bulls Euan Caldwell and Bradford Bulls Matthew Fletcher.

“It’s fantastic to see these young players being recognised for their performances,” said Under 19’s Head Coach Danny Addy.

I’m told that 15 past winners have gone on to earn full Scotland caps, which just shows that there is a pathway to the senior team.

Matt Hogg won the Student Player of the Year award and was U19 runner up in 2017 and captained the Students and U23’s in 2018 and earned his first senior cap against France this year. David Scott won the U18 Player of the Year award and made his debut in 2011 and has gone on to win 16 caps.

Thompson-Tait Award – Scotland Under-18/19s Player of the Year

2017 Calum Weir – Carluke Tigers

2016 George Kinnaird – Halifax Elite Rugby Academy

2015 Luke Walter – Sherwood Wolf Hunt

2014 Shane Toal – Ulverston

2013 Gregor Ramsey – Easterhouse Panthers

2012 Louis Senter – Hull KR

2011 David Scott – Hull KR

2010 Shaun Gray – Glenrothes

2009 Ashley Honeyman – Keighley Cougars & Josh Stoker – Gateshead Storm*

2007 Aiden Oakley – Kent Ravens

2006 Davie Crangle – Easterhouse Panthers” & Ben Parker – West Hull+

2005 Kieran Seeds – Edge Hill College

2004 Dougie Flockhart – Heriot-Watt University

*joint winners. Not awarded in 2008. “ U18 winner. + U19 winner.