The Under-19s Player of the Year, who received the Thompson-Tait Award, named after Scotland RL pioneer Graeme Thompson and legendary full-back Alan Tait, is Millom’s Connor Terrill. Terrill excelled across the season for the U19’s. Terril had competition for the award from Lyle Wilson and Charlie Emslie.

“It’s fantastic to see these young players being recognised for their performances,” said Under 19’s Head Coach Mark Brennan.

To date 15 past Player of the Year winners from the Scotland teams have gone on to earn full Scotland caps, which just shows that there is a pathway to the senior team.

Matt Hogg won the Student Player of the Year award and was U19 runner up in 2017 and captained the Students and U23’s in 2018 and made his senior debut in 2018 and now has 3 caps to his name. David Scott won the U18 Player of the Year award and made his debut in 2011 and has gone on to win 18 caps.

Thompson-Tait Award – Scotland Under-18/19s Player of the Year

2018 Chris Paterson – Newcastle Thunder

2017 Calum Weir – Carluke Tigers

2016 George Kinnaird – Halifax Elite Rugby Academy

2015 Luke Walter – Sherwood Wolf Hunt

2014 Shane Toal – Ulverston

2013 Gregor Ramsey – Easterhouse Panthers

2012 Louis Senter – Hull KR

2011 David Scott – Hull KR

2010 Shaun Gray – Glenrothes

2009 Ashley Honeyman – Keighley Cougars & Josh Stoker – Gateshead Storm*

2007 Aiden Oakley – Kent Ravens

2006 Davie Crangle – Easterhouse Panthers” & Ben Parker – West Hull+

2005 Kieran Seeds – Edge Hill College

2004 Dougie Flockhart – Heriot-Watt University

*joint winners. Not awarded in 2008. “U18 winner. +U19 winner.